You are here: Home / News / 2011 Distinguished Alumni - AECL

Department of Agricultural Education, Communications and Leadership

2011 Distinguished Alumni - AECL

2011 Distinguished Alumni - AECL

Oklahoma State University's Department of Agricultural Education, Communications and Leadership recognized the 2011 Distinguished Alumni honorees at the annual departmental awards reception.

The award is presented to alumni who attain distinctive success in their professions and perform outstanding service to their community.

John Talley, of Stillwater, Okla., is the recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award in agricultural education. He chose to major in agricultural education because he felt called to be an agricultural missionary and chose OSU because he wanted to wrestle for the Cowboys, which he did for four years. Talley has made a tremendous impact upon thousands of young people as North-Central Oklahoma Area Representative for Fellowship of Christian Athletes. He and his wife Caryl reside on a small acreage south of Stillwater and are active members of the University Heights Baptist Church.

Roy Lee Lindsey Jr., 1993 OSU graduate, is this year's Distinguished Alumni in agricultural communications. He is the Executive Director of the Oklahoma Pork Council and is an avid spokesman for agricultural producers and the youth of Oklahoma. Lindsey is currently a member of the Oklahoma 4-H Alumni Foundation Board of Directors, Oklahoma State University Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources Dean's Advisory Council and serves on the Sirloin Club Oklahoma executive committee. He and his wife Melissa have a beautiful 4-year-old daughter Elizabeth.

Jody House, 1994 graduate, is recognized as the Distinguished Alumni in agricultural leadership. He is currently the Public Relations Manager for the Choctaw Event Center in Durant, Okla., where he is better known as "the voice of the Choctaw Nation." Prior to his public relations position, House worked as an extension educator for several years in Atoka, Coal and Johnston counties; and served as the President of the Oklahoma Association of Extension Agricultural Agents.

Filed under: